Turbo Failure / Upgrade

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

usmc363

Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2021
Messages
84
Reaction score
50
Location
Tennessee
Welp, one of the turbo's bit the dust. They were rebuilt units by the previous owner. Gonna be researching upgrades but could use some pro/com feedback for deleting the 2 BOV's on the plastic pipes and using just one right before the TB. Plan on changing them out to aluminum tubing. Bummed out because I just got done replacing waterpump, timing chain, all front suspension, all shocks/struts, etc..about 5k miles ago.
 

Jordan_R

Stock Block Ready To Knock...er..Rock
Joined
Sep 20, 2017
Messages
1,598
Reaction score
3,780
Location
Missouri
CR Turbos are just a compressor housing upgrade. Doesn't really combat the exhaust turbine restriction that the stock turbos have so they are still just as prone to failure. GH turbos have a compressor and turbine upgrade while still using machined housings flow better and don't have as much heat failure issues.
 

usmc363

Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2021
Messages
84
Reaction score
50
Location
Tennessee
Appears GH doesn't have cores for upgrades or isn't selling the upgraded turbos anymore. I've sent them an email offering my cores. Awaiting reply. Thanks again.
 

SeanDev

SHO Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2021
Messages
632
Reaction score
481
Location
46131
Ok, going with the CR Performance Upgraded Turbos.

https://crpengineering.com/product/3-035-310/
Give TurboBay a try. They only use housing all other parts are new. And they upgrade both turbine and compressor size. And with Jordans way he went with his last SHO, I'm going the same route and getting everything powder coated. And depending on tuned, example with me, I informed what turbos I was acquiring and he gave me advice on what miscellaneous things for them to do to make it easier to tune on his end.
 

usmc363

Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2021
Messages
84
Reaction score
50
Location
Tennessee
Ok, got the new CR Performance turbos in, replaced all hose clamps with t-bolt clamps, cleaned all hoses. No boost. Sees 1psi only then nothing. Checked BOV gaskets, both good. Checked all hoses and plastics, seems ok, new Wastegates, new O2 sensors, all vacuum hoses still connected and nothing blown off.

Ordering a new Ford Boost solenoid this week and will try swapping it out. If that doesn't work, I guess I'll be trying a pressure test on the charge piping.

I had the battery unhooked for a 45 days or so, do I need to reload the tune (unleashed) in it maybe? Relearn process?
 
Last edited:

76FoMoCo

SHO Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2018
Messages
1,588
Reaction score
1,704
Location
Nampa, ID
Is the hose from the boost solenoid to charge pipe connection complete?
 

usmc363

Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2021
Messages
84
Reaction score
50
Location
Tennessee
UPDATE: Replaced boost solenoid, no change.
Decided to take charge pipes off for closer inspection, found a split underneath the hose coming up to the throttle body.
Ordered an actual pipe from EcoPowerParts. Hopefully this fixes my issue.
 

Ta2dResqr

SHO Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2020
Messages
1,202
Reaction score
1,132
Location
Central Ohio
Messaged CR Performance, their upgraded CHRA is supposed to be good for a 5-10% increase. The Stage turbos are supposed to be good for 100+ with the Stage 2 being low end and Stage 3 being top end. Both of the Stage sets require tuning.
 

usmc363

Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2021
Messages
84
Reaction score
50
Location
Tennessee
Messaged CR Performance, their upgraded CHRA is supposed to be good for a 5-10% increase. The Stage turbos are supposed to be good for 100+ with the Stage 2 being low end and Stage 3 being top end. Both of the Stage sets require tuning.
I've got a tune on it (unleashed) that came with it when I bought it. The turbos had been upgraded to billet wheels but I'm unsure if the tune was before or after that. I'll be ordering a new tune for the stage 3 turbos, my fear is the stock hpfp not being enough for it all. Still waiting on the piping from EcoPowerParts.
 

toms89

SHO Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2014
Messages
105
Reaction score
68
Location
Maryland
I've got a tune on it (unleashed) that came with it when I bought it. The turbos had been upgraded to billet wheels but I'm unsure if the tune was before or after that. I'll be ordering a new tune for the stage 3 turbos, my fear is the stock hpfp not being enough for it all. Still waiting on the piping from EcoPowerParts.
I have stage 3 turbo's from turbo bay and the hpfp did not keep up. :( Had to wait almost 6 months to get my XDI EVO 35. Hopefully that has improved now. My turbo's are definitely on the larger side so a bit "laggy" from idle. If I had it to do over again I would have probably picked something smaller. But still in the process of dialing in the tune so I will see if they change my mind.
 
Last edited:

usmc363

Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2021
Messages
84
Reaction score
50
Location
Tennessee
I have stage 3 turbo's from turbo bay and the hpfp did not keep up. :( Had to wait almost 6 months to get my XDI EVO 35. Hopefully that has improved now. My turbo's are definitely on the larger side so a bit "laggy" from idle. If I had it to do over again I would have probably picked something smaller. But still in the process of dialing in the tune so I will see if they change my mind.
Do you know what size the turbo's are over stock? I'm definitely going to get the tune and now I guess save for the XDI-35.
 

usmc363

Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2021
Messages
84
Reaction score
50
Location
Tennessee
Got the replacement pipe from EcoPowerParts on today. Still no boost. Back to the drawing board. Gonna take off the other charge hoses and inspect again.
 

usmc363

Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2021
Messages
84
Reaction score
50
Location
Tennessee
Pressure held on ALL charge pipes.
Applied pressure to the vacuum hoses that split to the wastegates and they opened and held with no problems. Reloaded tune just in case. I'm at a f*cking loss here. I can hear the turbo's spooling when driving but it will not get over .05psi. Vacuum at idle is ~-9.5, plugs still look great. WTF IS GOING ON.
 

76FoMoCo

SHO Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2018
Messages
1,588
Reaction score
1,704
Location
Nampa, ID
Check the hose that goes to the brake booster. From next to the throttle body.
 

toms89

SHO Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2014
Messages
105
Reaction score
68
Location
Maryland
Did you check for DTC's? Do you have the P0299 DTC?
When you say you hear them spooling, what exactly do you hear? How are you getting your boost reading?
 

usmc363

Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2021
Messages
84
Reaction score
50
Location
Tennessee
Applied pressure to the hose going to the brake booster, no leaks, appears it probably stops at the check valve? Which I'm assuming is correct since it has an arrow on it pointing towards the intake.
I called CR Performance about a possible adjustment of the wastegate arms, thinking maybe they were not closed all the way and letting exhaust escape too much, but they said they come adjusted already.
 
Back
Top