1992 Cranks, no start

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

clayb226

Reaction score
Hello Guys, it the old newbie here!! I just bought my first SHO, a 1992. The guy I bought it from said that it just lost spark, and I verified that it has no spark. He replaced the Crankshaft Position sensor, the cam shaft sensor, the Ignition module on the intake crossover, as well as the coil pack, and still could not get spark. I believe that the CPS is working, as I get a RPM reading when cranking the car over, and the CEL flickers when cranking, is not a solid light. I did some quick checks, and seem to be getting the constant voltage to my coil pack, but no spark to the plugs. I am sure that I am missing something simple, so any help would be great!! Thanks in advance!!

luigisho

SHO Member
Reaction score
What are the codes stored in the computer? That is usually the first step in trying to locate issues.

If those listed parts above are new and functioning correctly, first blush culprit is the computer, ground, or wiring issue. THat is only if those are in fact performing correctly. I have fallen prey to a replacement part that I crossed off the list only to have it not work.
You must also be sure the bolts around the ignition control module are all fastened and present. There is a bolt that acts as a module ground to the intake and you will not function correctly without it. I try to have extra parts like used ignition module, pcm (computer), CCRM, and crank sensor on hand, if able, just for testing and ease of repair. SOme of that might not be financially viable but it makes ownership easier.

clayb226

Reaction score
What are the codes stored in the computer? That is usually the first step in trying to locate issues.