2010 to 2015 sho engine swap

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Ecostang

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2016
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
Location
Boulder
I'm a huge ecoboost fan, I have a 3.5 installed in a 2010 mustang race car and my DD is a 2013 ecoboost supercrew. I stumbled across a 2010 sho 50k miles with a blown engine. It's a really good deal and I wanted to pick this up to play around with, I've always loved the 2010+ sho.

I've found a long block engine from a 2015 sho with only 2k miles. I would need to use my 2010 turbos and all accessories for the 2015 engine. I realize that I would need to upgrade to water-cooled oil cooler and I found a list of parts for that. Is there any other problems I would have with this swap? Any wiring issues? Are the intakes different? Transmissions? I can't find much online about the differences, looks like just the oil cooler.

Thanks in advance for any advice you guys can give me!
 

Pintony

Active Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Messages
486
Reaction score
168
Location
40 miles N.E. of St; Louis
I'm a huge ecoboost fan, I have a 3.5 installed in a 2010 mustang race car and my DD is a 2013 ecoboost supercrew. I stumbled across a 2010 sho 50k miles with a blown engine. It's a really good deal and I wanted to pick this up to play around with, I've always loved the 2010+ sho.

I've found a long block engine from a 2015 sho with only 2k miles. I would need to use my 2010 turbos and all accessories for the 2015 engine. I realize that I would need to upgrade to water-cooled oil cooler and I found a list of parts for that. Is there any other problems I would have with this swap? Any wiring issues? Are the intakes different? Transmissions? I can't find much online about the differences, looks like just the oil cooler.

Thanks in advance for any advice you guys can give me!
Upload 2016 1 31 23 58 41 Ecostang, Find someone with a current Hollander exchange catalog.
 

Ecostang

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2016
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
Location
Boulder
2010-12 have different crank and cam sensors than the +13-16 motors. Everything else should swap over.

Thank you, there was a similar change to the f150 ecoboost as well.

Are they different sensors or just in different locations? Will I be able to wire these sensors up to my existing harness and everything work ok? Thanks again
 

Ecostang

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2016
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
Location
Boulder
Do all the 2013+ have oil coolers or is it only the 2013+ PP sho?
 

BamSHO

SHO Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2001
Messages
1,239
Reaction score
986
Location
South Williamsport,PA, US
+13 PP cars only have the extra coolers. The sensors went from 2 pin connector to 3 pin connectors on the sensors, but still in same location. Need to use harness in the car that the motor is going into.
 

RAYJAY

WHO ME ?
Joined
Apr 13, 2005
Messages
1,607
Reaction score
337
Location
UNION DALE PA
ok on the swap is there any difference on the long block f150 to the sho motor ?
 

SHOdded

SHO Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2011
Messages
8,947
Reaction score
4,286
Location
Maryland
Different, larger turbos on the F150, so may not physically fit either.
 

Ecostang

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2016
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
Location
Boulder
ok on the swap is there any difference on the long block f150 to the sho motor ?
Transmission bolt pattern is completely different and used they cost 2x as much for whatever reason.
 
Last edited:

Ecostang

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2016
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
Location
Boulder
+13 PP cars only have the extra coolers. The sensors went from 2 pin connector to 3 pin connectors on the sensors, but still in same location. Need to use harness in the car that the motor is going into.

The motor I found says it is w/ oil cooler, so does this mean I found a PP motor?

I wonder if I can take the sensor off my 2010 motor and put them on the 2015 motor to fix the issue?

If I had to use the 2015 engine harness I would think I would also need a 2015 PCM too, the 2010 PCM wouldn't know how to read a 3 pin sensor. A used PCM for a 2015 isn't expensive, I could go that route too.
 

BamSHO

SHO Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2001
Messages
1,239
Reaction score
986
Location
South Williamsport,PA, US
Yeah, that that isn't a big issue, you could swap out the oil filter adapter off the blow motor and put on the 2015 motor. Yes you can swap out those sensors, a lot easier than swapping out ECU and harness.
 

Ecostang

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2016
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
Location
Boulder
Thanks for the reply

I'm going to go ahead and buy the car and the 2015 engine. I'll document the engine swap here for anyone wanting to do this in the future. It will be a few weeks before I have the car and the engine in my possession, I'm figuring on it taking 2 weekends once I get started.

Anyone here pulled an engine in one of these? Is there any tips or tricks I should know before I get started? Any special tools needed?
 
Last edited:

Ecostang

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2016
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
Location
Boulder
Good point, I hadn't thought about that. With it being fwd I bet it's really hard to get the engine out of the top. I have a friend with a lift, I'll ask him. I have a drive on lift but that won't work for this.
 

rubydist

SHO Master
Staff member
Super Moderators
Joined
Jun 25, 2007
Messages
7,481
Reaction score
3,332
Location
Denver
why would you not use the 2010 harness on the "new" motor?
 

Ecostang

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2016
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
Location
Boulder
That's actually the plan.

If I didn't change out two of the sensors mentioned above with 2010 sensor the 2010 wiring harness wouldn't plug in to them. So the choice was to either replace the 2 sensors on the new motor with the originals or use a 2015 wiring harness and PCM.
 

Forum statistics

Threads
105,684
Messages
1,166,222
Members
14,998
Latest member
Adam34

Members online

Back
Top